Whole30 round 2

After completing my first round of Whole30 in August of 2014, I’ve found it much easier to focus on eating healthy, home-cooked meals wherever possible. Generally speaking I eat a fairly paleo diet most of the time. However, even with all good intentions, some junk food did creep back in, particularly on the run-up to Christmas. I love to bake, and I love to eat baked things. What I have noticed however, is that my taste for sweet things changed after I did the Whole30. I don’t put sugar in my tea anymore; if I feel like I need some sweetness I use local date syrup instead. I also don’t tolerate fatty foods in the same way I used to be able to – they just don’t seem as appealing and make me feel gross after I’ve eaten them. Chocolate on the other hand is still as appealing as it always was!!

Christmas cookie swap the day before I flew home, with no-one else to help me eat them! Christmas cake. Mince pies.

Christmas cookie swap the day before I flew home, with no-one else to help me eat them! Christmas cake. Mince pies.

I decided January was as good a time as any to re-focus on what I was eating; I needed to get back on track after a few too many mince pies and Lindt chocolates. In addition I have my first road marathon coming up at the end of January and I wanted to make sure I was in tip-top shape nutrition-wise for it. I’ve been posting daily pictures of what I eat on Instagram as I did last time round; I find that it helps me to keep on track and makes me accountable to what I’m eating if I publish it to the world! It’s also a great way to see what other people are eating and cooking on their Whole30 journeys, as a lot of people have chosen January for another round. Some of the recipes and meal ideas that I’m seeing on Instagram look amazing and are things that I would never have thought of, even though I’m very happy in the kitchen cooking new things.

Day 1:

  • Breakfast – Scrambled eggs, sliced Granny Smith apple, green pepper, cucumber and mixed almonds & cashews.
  • Lunch – Lettuce, tomatoes, cucumber, red & orange pepper, olives, dates, pineapple, a carrot, sardines.
  • Dinner – Beef burger, smashed potatoes, onion & pepper tomato side. Half an apple and some frozen cherries.
  • Snacks – Mid-afternoon banana.
  • Drinks – Hot water with ginger, water, black tea, fruit tea.

    Whole30 Day 1

    Whole30 Day 1

Day 2:

  • Breakfast – 2-egg omelette with onion & pepper tomato sauce, green pepper, cucumber and mixed almonds & hazelnuts.
  • Lunch – Lettuce, tomatoes, cucumber, red & orange pepper, olives, dates, pineapple, a carrot, sardines.
  • Dinner – Stir-fried chicken with carrot, onion & green pepper. Cucumber and sliced beets.
  • Snacks – Mid-afternoon banana
  • Drinks – Hot water with ginger, water, black coffee.

    Whole30 Day 2

    Whole30 Day 2

Day 3:

  • Breakfast – Scrambled eggs (2) with mushrooms in. Sliced beets, cucumber, green pepper and cashew nuts.
  • Lunch – Lettuce, red pepper, cucumber, carrot, pineapple & sliced ½ avocado.
  • Dinner – Camping dinner of chicken, onions, garlic, peppers and tomato with cauliflower rice. Banana after dinner.
  • Snacks – Chia & coconut Roo bar (pretty sure it was mouldy but I ate it anyway).
  • Drinks – Hot water with ginger, water, green tea, black tea.

    Whole30 Day 3

    Whole30 Day 3

Day 4:

  • Breakfast – 2 boiled eggs, half an avocado, cucumber, raw mushrooms and a Maca cranberry Roo bar.
  • Lunch – Lettuce, tomatoes, red & orange peppers, olives, dates, melon, a carrot, sardines.
  • Dinner – Thai red shrimp coconut & veg curry (with 4 big, fat Omani shrimp) with cauliflower rice and banana.
  • Snacks – Mid-afternoon apple.
  • Drinks – Water, green tea.

    Whole30 Day 4

    Whole30 Day 4

Day 5:

  • Breakfast – Red Thai omelette with spinach, sliced beets and cashew/almond mix.
  • Lunch – Grilled chicken with sautéed cauliflower, broccoli and carrots.
  • Dinner – Meatballs with tomato, onion, carrot & courgette sauce, mashed sweet potatoes and broccoli.
  • Snacks – Orange and 4 lychees post-diving.
  • Drinks – Water, fresh pineapple juice (no sugar!). Hot water with ginger and a splash of apple juice.

    Whole30 Day 5

    Whole30 Day 5

Day 6:

  • Breakfast – Post-1/2 marathon red Thai omelette, sliced green apple, mushrooms, cucumber and a leftover meatball.
  • Lunch – Carrot, green pepper and cucumber sticks, homemade moutabbal, olives, dates, an orange and a banana.
  • Dinner – Green peppers stuffed with beef mince, tomatoes, onions, courgette, sultanas and lots of herbs, with lettuce, tomato, cucumber and chopped almonds.
  • Snacks – Pre-race (5.30am) banana, cashews/almonds and dates. Mid-morning apple.
  • Drinks – 2 glasses of watered-down beet & apple juice (with Elete hydration salts in one). Coffee with coconut milk.

    Whole30 Day 6

    Whole30 Day 6

Day 7:

  • Breakfast – ½ a grapefruit, carrot, cucumber, sliced beets, 2 scrambled eggs with cauliflower florets.
  • Lunch – Romaine lettuce, green pepper, cucumber, ½ an avocado, radish, mint & coriander, leftover mince & veg, homemade moutabbal and an orange.
  • Dinner – Grilled beef burger, sweet potato wedges with coconut oil, steamed cauliflower and homemade moutabbal. Dessicated coconut, coconut milk, chia seeds and frozen blueberries for pud.
  • Snacks – Banana, lychees, nuts & dates.
  • Drinks – Water, ginger tea.

    Whole30 Day 7

    Whole30 Day 7

I ate out for the first time during a Whole30, after diving on Friday lunchtime. I went for the grilled chicken with sautéed veg (no dressing please!). It was OK, but too greasy for my liking, and I’m fairly certain that the chicken had been fried not grilled. You win some you lose some I guess. I ran a fast (for me) half marathon on Saturday morning, and after suffering with stomach cramps for the last 9km (I think related to the lunch out the previous day…) struggled to get enough food back in immediately after the race. I paid for it a bit on Sunday – I couldn’t work out why I was so hungry all day. Energy levels have been fine, once I realised that the reason I was having so much trouble getting up in the morning was jetlag!

Leave a Reply

