Homemade nut butter

I’ve not been eating nut butter on this Whole30, for two reasons; it’s extortionately expensive out here for a tiny jar imported from Cornish manufacturers in the UK, and I tend to eat peanut butter straight out of the jar normally, which as far as I’m concerned is not a hugely healthy habit. So I decided just to avoid it for this Whole30, as it’s not very Charlie-compliant. However, I’m now on day 28, and I have a surplus of roasted pumpkin / squash seeds kicking around. Pumpkin and squash are mega cheap out here, so we eat them on a fairly regular basis, even before this whole30; roasted, mashed, wedges etc. But what to do with the seeds that usually just get scooped out and thrown in the bin? I am my father’s daughter after all, and I hate seeing food go to waste. Somewhere I have some nice fat pumpkin seeds in an envelope to try growing when the weather cools down again, but I decided this batch were going to be turned into something yummy. Niall was given the task of deciding between me simply roasting them and leaving them as snacks & salad toppings, or combining them with cashews and almonds and trying to make some homemade nut butter. He went for the nut butter option. So this is how it went!

Ingredients;

  • ½ cup toasted pumpkin/squash seeds (actually a little bowl, but I don’t have my measuring cups here in Oman with me – the bowl is more for making sure quantities are equal where needed)
  • 1 cup cashews
  • 1 cup almonds
  • 2 tablespoons coconut oil

I food processed the seeds for a little while on their own first (maybe a minute or so) to break them down a bit before adding the cashews and almonds.

Step 1. Blitz seeds & add nuts!

Step 1. Blitz seeds & add nuts!

Then it’s simply a case of blend. Blend. Blend. Blend some more. Oh and a little bit more.

Step 2. Add more nuts! Start blending.

Step 2. Add more nuts! Start blending.

The mixture will go to very finely chopped/ground nut consistency, then it will start to slowly stick together. Be patient – you will also need to stop and clean down the sides of the food processor fairly regularly to ensure everything is getting processed.

Step 3. Blend & blitz some more.

Step 3. Blend & blitz some more.

My mixture eventually got to a point where it didn’t look like it was getting any softer/creamier, so that was when I added some coconut oil. It takes a while, but will eventually start coming together.

Step 4. Keep blending! Add some coconut oil if necessary

Step 4. Keep blending! Add some coconut oil if necessary

I think if you use just nuts, this isn’t needed as much, but I think the seeds tend to dry it out a bit more. I ended up using about 2 tablespoons of coconut oil; use according to how slack you want the end product to be I guess! More blending. More patience. More yummy smells coming from it.

Step 5. Keep blending (and adding coconut oil) until desired smoothness is achieved

Step 5. Keep blending (and adding coconut oil) until desired smoothness is achieved

Niall’s verdict was “it’s a bit dry”. Great. I think he means claggy; it’s definitely not dry, as it was quite liquidy when I put it in the jar, but I do agree that it’s quite claggy compared to commercially available nut butters e.g. processed peanut butter. However, it’s made without added sugar, without added hydrogenated fats and chemicals, and so I’ll take claggy and clean over smooth and processed any day. Someone please pass me the teaspoon.

Almond, cashew & pumpkin/squash seed butter

Almond, cashew & pumpkin/squash seed butter

Leave a Reply

